Thread: New Guy for Nursing

New Guy for Nursing

Hey.

I'm really tempted to go down the nursing path. I'm a law enforcement officer, former biology teacher (have a B.S.), former part-time paramedic, and I've got the common prereqs (A&P, micro, psych, etc).

That said, I'm at a point where I want to go back and earn an RN/BSN. Yeah, I'll have to quit and go back to school in order to do this so I'm scared of not having a good job with a good salary. I'm not sure how to do this. I'm still single, and I don't have kids so this would be easier than otherwise, but it's still a bit unnerving.

Have any of you guys had to do this?

What's it like being a nursing student? Some of what I've read and heard about nursing school makes it seem very tradition-oriented and not all too progressive. Any insight on that, or how us men fit in with it?

Re: New Guy for Nursing

Quote Originally Posted by arkansasfan View Post
    Hey.

I'm really tempted to go down the nursing path. I'm a law enforcement officer, former biology teacher (have a B.S.), former part-time paramedic, and I've got the common prereqs (A&P, micro, psych, etc).

That said, I'm at a point where I want to go back and earn an RN/BSN. Yeah, I'll have to quit and go back to school in order to do this so I'm scared of not having a good job with a good salary. I'm not sure how to do this. I'm still single, and I don't have kids so this would be easier than otherwise, but it's still a bit unnerving.

What's it like being a nursing student? Some of what I've read and heard about nursing school makes it seem very tradition-oriented and not all too progressive. Any insight on that, or how us men fit in with it?