Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rude Doctors

Rude Doctors

Would love to know how some of you handle rude doctors, the ones that think every question is stupid; the ones that use every available opportunity to publicly humiliate. Last week, I had had enough and yelled right back, and the way my co-workers looked at me, I was half expecting to be sacked. It didn't happen, but I wonder if I potentially face valid administrative recrimination for speaking up for myself. Feedback greatly appreciated! <font color="purple"> </font>

Re: Rude Doctors

Well, we have a whole forum for it here, if that tells you anything. Although, it is empty ???.

Anyway, I'm a new nurse, and male, so I'm A) probably naive, and B) probably get treated somewhat differently, but my outlook is this:

Treat me with respect. I am NOT under you. I work FOR this hospital. You do not. I DO NOT DO FOR you. Treat me with respect, and I'll treat you accordingly. If you do not, I'll tell you about it right then, and you'll look stupid. You might hate me, but I don't care. I'm not here to cater to you, I'm here to do my job, as are you. That involves us working together and cooperating pretty closely. If you can't treat me with decency, that will not work. I'm the one who should be PISSED at YOU because I spend half my time DECIPHERING your handwriting, trying to figure out what you are wanting for this patient, when it would make it easier on both of us, if you'd just print it plainly. Heck, the othe half of my time is spent covering my butt because of all the mistakes that happen as a result of your crappy handwriting, and the fact that you get pissed off when you have to get called to clarify. Heck, doctor, I'm mad at you because med errors happen because of your handwriting. I'm just all around pissed off about your handwriting.