Thread: Nursing or Chiropractic

Question Nursing or Chiropractic

I have always had an instrest in the medical field and I was recently let go from my last job and I have decided to get into the medical field. I find both Chiropractic and Nursing both instresting. I was going to go into nursing but then went with Chiropractic. I am supposed to start at the chiropractic college in January but am not rethinking it. Would like some options from the group.

Cool Re: Nursing or Chiropractic

I would think that you would have a better chance at successful employment with a career in nursing.

Re: Nursing or Chiropractic

I agree I would have to work harder at making money as a Chiropractor, as a nurse I could make good money anywhere. I also like the fact that if I went into nursing I could more then likely get someone else to front the cost of the education (I work for a hospital that offers tution payments, and nursing scholarships.) Chiropractic would cost me about 150,000 in student loans. If I went into nursing I would want to be a ARNP which would allow a wide scope of practice, and would make great money. I guess I will have to way the pro's and cons from each.

Ricu

Interesting position.

My first thought is not which way to go but which philosophy is more aligned with my own. Both fields offer excellent career potential and deal with health maintenance but are in certain ways more different than similar. The "bedside nurse" practice is allopathic in philosophy. Disease is the enemy that must be fought by drugs, surgery and/or both with little attention paid to the causative agent(s).