A company recently left a message for my friend and offered her a position for 36/hour with overtime after 8 hours/day in California. She passed it off to me. When I called the company they quoted 28/hour and no overtime. I told them I heard the job was more money. Then they went up to 30/hour with no overtime after 8. I told them this was still not enough. Then they went up to 32/hour but still no overtime after 8 hours. I inquired about the overtime after 8 being state law and they told me that they didn't need to pay the overtime after 8 hours per day. Then they took the pay to 35/hour but still no overtime after 8 hours. I talked to a few nurses who do per diem work at this hospital and they told me they get overtime 8 hours. I looked up the law on the California Labor Law website and it says if you are a healthcare worker and choose to work 12 hour shifts that they do not have to pay overtime after 8 hours, but then right below this law it states if you provide care to patients as a healthcare worker they do have to pay overtime after 8 hours per day. Now my question is how can I get this company to follow the law? I would like to take the position but do not want to be stiffed out of money that is entitled to me. Should I call the California Labor Law number and ask them what to do about this or will it make the company mad at me and thus lose the Job? Any one with any answers please let me know.
<font color="red">Text</font>
<font color="red">Text</font> 