Thread: More about Nursing Jobs for Felons

More about Nursing Jobs for Felons

I am new here and not sure how all this will work. I was convicted of a felony 20+ years ago. After the schooling and the investigation by BON, I was issued a license with no restrictions, and expanded role. As my family would be considered lower income, it was a burden for my wife to help me through school. I am an ex- EMT, have military experience, however I like some of those I have read about cannot get a job. It was related to me that a Federal Pardon signed by the President himself will not release you from disclosing you were a felon. By the same token neither will an Restoration of Rights. The only way to not have to make this disclosure is having your record expunged or sealed, both of which I understand are highly improbable. I am a capable practioner and reasonably cool under bad situations. I want to make a living, but if you are a nurse for the money you are in for the wrong reason. I would appreciate any direction or advice that I could receive. Thanks to anyone out there reading.

Red face Re: More about Nursing Jobs for Felons

Well, I am sorry about your predicament. I would guess the only thing you could do to improve matters would be to pursue the expungement route. The effort might prove to be worth it in the end. It seems a shame that something that happened more than 20 years ago is still being held against you. Encourage you to not give up and don't let your work problem sour your home life or the rest of your existence for that matter. There is more to life than having a job, even if you are starving under a bridge. Good luck.

Re: More about Nursing Jobs for Felons

In this recession , there are many nurses having employment woes, and sad to say, your felony would be a factor for hiring someone else.