Thread: working with witches

Angry working with witches

Just venting here. Has anyone else had this experience? I am doing a travel assignment at Yale New Haven Hospital and have been flabbergasted at the nearly abusive way the oncoming shift treats me as well as other nurses. It's not so bad giving report to the AM shift but those who come in at 7PM are absolutely rotten to the core. Today I had a patient going bad and I was in her room pretty much from 3PM to 7PM. Even though these losers all knew that, I was still peppered with questions, did you do this, why wasn't this done, etc, ad nauseam. I have a good mind to tell them all to go to **** and leave except then I won't get my completion bonus. I've been a nurse for 25 years and frankly have never seen anything like it and I've seen my share of witches in all those years. One of these nurses, an "older" nurse, even older than I am, got all ticked off because at 8:15PM, when my shift was over at 7:30PM, I said I was not about to stay to try and resolve something I had spent nearly the entire day trying to get straightened out. The big issue was that a patient who had a continuous infusion of chemo going had an order to go for an MRI. The attending working the floor in the early AM didn't feel comfortable saying the chemo could be interrupted for the test. He told me to tell the intern to pursue it with another attending. This was at 10 in the morning. I must have asked this intern at least 5 times if he had been able to reach this attending and he said he had called at least 8 times and received no response. So, when they called at 8:15 to see if the patient was ready this old witch blew a gasket and wanted me to stay there and hunt down the intern who was covering then and I told her absolutely not. She did not ask me if I would do that, she just sat there and told me I "was going to get the intern on call..." and then she wanted me to fax some sheet over to the MRI people. I said I would do that and then cou