Thought you all would want to read this! Nursing Offers A Healthy Employment Future : NPR

More than 3 million jobs in the health care industry will be created this decade, ranging from highly paid neurosurgeons to home health aids making barely above minimum wage.

And more nursing jobs will be created in the next decade than in any other single profession. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects that nearly 600,000new jobs for registered nurses will be created by 2018.

Mike Jones hopes to get one of those jobs. Not long ago, he was working long hours in his father's construction business, and he wasn’t happy. After a couple of hours on the phone with his brother, Jones made an unlikely career choice: He decided to become a nurse.

"I enjoy helping people," says Jones as he sits in a common area at the medical education campus of Northern Virginia Community College. "[I've] never been in the medical field before. This is my first time. It's all new to me."

Jones is 40 years old, never went to college, and before he worked construction was a United Airlines baggage handler. He sees nursing as his ticket to a solid income — and a solid career.

"I feel secure. There's job security. So I'm not worried, like with the airline," Jones says. "I was concerned towards the end there and that's one of the reasons I quit. I just knew it was going downhill. ... I don't feel that with this."

If you're picking a new profession purely based on the numbers, nursing is a pretty sure bet.

"It's a large occupation," says Roger Moncarz, who does employment projections for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. "It's a growing occupation, and certainly there will be jobs there in the field over the next decade."

You can get an entry-level registered nurse job with just three years of college. And Moncarz says the median wage for a registered nurse is $62,450, putting it among the highest wage-earning professions.