Thread: icu or floor nursing??

icu or floor nursing??

i just recently took my nclex-rn exam,
    i want to work in the icu but i worked as a nurses aide during school and while wait for the results of my exam. i was wonderig if i should start my nursing career as a med/surg nurse or in the icu?? my longterm goal is to become a nurse practioner specializing in critical care.. any advie will be greatly appreciated..
    [CENTER]missnasheah

Smile Re: icu or floor nursing??

I've been a nurse for 17 years, starting out on a med/surg floor, then migrating to Cardiovascular. The one year of Med/Surg gave me a solid foundation to build on. Most non-surgical, non-traumatic ICU patient's are in ICU because of a Med/Surg condition gone bad.
    There's so much to learn on Med/Surg and it will help you to find your true 'niche' in nursing.

Good luck to you on whichever road you choose!

Red face Re: icu or floor nursing??

Personally I love working in the ICU and I was a nursing assistant also but I chose to work a Step-down unit before I decided to go to ICU. I think it help see things differently and help me get my organizational skills together before I went to a more chaotic atmoshpere and some place that I needed to think critically and quick at any moment. It is your choice but I do not think that working a med/surg floor for a year before going into the unit.
    LynnaeRN:cool:

Re: icu or floor nursing??