Thread: can a construction worker who does not like needles become a nurse?

can a construction worker who does not like needles become a nurse?

****o, I am really getting a lot of information from this forum. I am a 37 year old male. I have been a carpenter for 20 years, I am starting general ed. classes to get me in to a nursing program. I have always thought this would be a fantastic way to help people and make a good living to suppourt my family. but obviously it is a huge change. I have a good friend that is a doctor, he has told me I would be an ideal person for this type of work.
    but I have some concearns, I dont like needles! will I be able to overcome this problem with training and practice or is it something you either can or cant handle.
    I am leaving a trade where I know almost eveything there is to know about building, I am the guy they call when there is a problem that nobody wants to or can fix. going in to one where I am as green as the 20 year old mall rat playing with her/his playstation in the admissions office to the college!
    Everyone I work with tells me I am nuts to try this. but I do have to make a change of some kind. I will have to become a construction manager or supervisor if I stay in this field ( I would hate that) or go for something I think would be better. I am simply getting to old to be climbing around in rafters or setting beams 40 feet up in the air. thanks for any input you have to offer.

Re: can a construction worker who does not like needles become a nurse?

you can definately do this.

It sounds like you are a very "hands on" person.

You may want to get your lpn/lvn first depending on whether or not they have that in your state and what their status there is.

An LPN program is very hands on, and you don't have to have college courses to get in.