Thread: GSA per diem rates

GSA per diem rates

I have been traveling for 3 1/2 years and I am getting mixed answers about the GSA per diem rates and can't understand why I don't see all that money in my pocket. I understand that companies have to make money too, but I am assuming the per diem money is supposed to go to the one traveling away from home.

For instance, I am on an assignment an get a flat rate, taxed and housing supplied to me. Did I forfeit that perdiem money when I took the flat rate and housing? If so, why? I am still not given the meals and incidentals money that it lists. Also, is my company getting the money above the rent they are paying for my apartment?

Could someone please explain it to me?

Re: GSA per diem rates

Hi, I can try to help...To answer your first question, you can't receive housing AND get a housing stipend. That would be considered "double dipping". I don't know how your current contract is spelled out etc, but for us (TNS) we could draw up a contract to pay an hourly rate (taxable), with housing and the M&I rate for whatever that amount should be in that area. The stipends are split between "lodging" and "meals/incidentals". We customize the pay package however you wish (legally). Companies do not "receive" the stipend monies. The stipends are simply how much can be passed to you "non taxed". Your housing is paid (in TNS' case) out of the bill rate. In other words, we don't receive the stipends to pay your housing-that's not how it works. If you need further explanation just give me a call. I don't mind explaining how this all works. "Tax Advantage" pay packages are pretty popular and we have many nurses opting for this set up. But either way, a good recruiter should be able to spell out pay package in every way. We always show as many options possible, based on what you need, so you can make the best decision for you. I hope this helps a little? Please don't hesitate to call, I really don't mind to clear anything up, thanks!