• they are angels sent from heaven above

44 11.46%
  • I AM a Strike Nurse

56 14.58%
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Opinion on Strike Nursing

Opinion on Strike Nursing

Re: Opinion on Strike Nursing

Nurses only strike as a last resort and not usually for money. The biggest issue is staffing. I have a low opinion of an institution that will paybig bucks for strike nurses instead of using that money to hire more nurses to ease the staffing situation. The strike nurses are helping hospitals keep staffing at a dangerously low level which could impact the patient mortality rate.

In Michigan we have a hospital where the nurses have been on strike for around a year. The administration has employed "scab" nurses to fill that gap. Not only do these nurses get paid well, they are also fed and housed. It would seem the hospitals' concern about nursing costs are pretty much blown out of the water because the amount of monies spent to employ these other "nurses" has to have well surpassed the budgetary issues I'm sure they gave as the reasons they could not/would not grant the requests of their striking nurses.

Several years ago a local hospitals' nurses went on strike for a short peroid of time and the "strike breakers" were bussed in. The horror stories that were related because of nursing personell that not only were not familiar with the facility, they also were often placed in areas that were outside of their expertise were numerous. The hospital at least had the foresight to transfer their sickest and most complicated to other facilities.