Thread: Prospective jobs

Prospective jobs

This is geared toward current nurses, but I'm sure this is really helpful anyone even considering getting into a career in nursing. I'm a freshman in a University nursing program currently, and just wanted some advice.

Anyway, when looking into current jobs in many areas across the U.S., many hospitals are asking for a year or two of experience, which is somewhat scary to me, considering many are saying going into nursing would guarantee me a job. I'm a guy, and want to work in the ER or geriatrics. I mean I thought I'd be able to write my ticket.

However, in looking for summer jobs and internships to get my foot in that door, but I'm not sure the best route to do that, if necessary, even. I've considered getting my EMT-B certification, getting a job as a phlebotomist, or even just working as a cook or janitor in a local hospital just make my resume look better. I've also considered volunteering with the American Red Cross to get some free training and experience, but I'm wondering if any of this would be worth working toward. All I want is a great job out of college! Are my parents making me paranoid, or is this really something I should work toward in the current job state? Thanks for the advice!

-Andrew

Re: Prospective jobs

Additionally, if it's really necessary, what are other entry-level jobs that I could consider? I'm just looking for part-time stuff. I'm taking 17 credit hours per semester, and that alone is taxing. I'd like some free time if at all possible.

Member Extraordinaire