Thread: Accelerated BSN programs

Accelerated BSN programs

Is anyone in, or has graduated from, an accelerated BSN program?

I'm just starting my 2nd week of one and wanted to compare experiences. I'm currently at Florida Atlantic University.

Thumbs up Re: Accelerated BSN programs

I started my accelerated nursing program in May 2006 at UNF, Jacksonville, FL. This is the first time I haven't been able to keep a job and go to school. So, far managing my budget around student loans has been the hardest part. I am having a blast so far and clinicals make all the studying well worth the stress. Our next semester (Fall) is suppose to be our hardest semester: 18 credit hours and 3, 9-10 hour clinical days.

How's the experience going for you? When will you graduate?

Re: Accelerated BSN programs

I graduated from an accelerated BSN in August 2006. I went to Duquesne University in Pittsburgh and their program is 1 year. I loved the fact that I would be done in just one year and that we completed exactly as many hours of clinical as a regular 4 year program. Everything was intense, classes and clinical, but I had a great experience. We went to the best hospitals in Pitt. for our rotations and our instructors were very well prepared and helpful. I did not work...I barely found time to sleep 6 hours every night hehe...but it went very fast. I made a very good friend this year and I would suggest you do the same if you can. It helps a lot to have someone that goes through the same thing as you and that you can talk and share stuff with. Good luck and be strong, it will go by fast!