Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ER Discussions

ER Discussions

We have created this form specifically for ER discussions, topics and stories. We hope you find it useful. Be the first to share your stories and experience.

Re: ER Discussions

Ok where are all my fellow ER nurses?? I hope we can get a lively ongoing bunch of topics being discussed here & I'm going to check daily, so come on & pop in!

I love ER nursing. After NICU, ICU, teaching, being a flight nurse and a DON, I can honestly say ER is my love. (not the TV show... well, on second thought that Dr Kovak is good looking.. but... ahem)

So how about introducing yourself as you post...
    like how long you've been an ER nurse, are you at a trauma center or regular ER.. a teaching hospital or whatever.. ok?

OK I'll go first...here's the problem and I'd like a few thoughts...first a little background.
    I'm a female nurse, have been for years and my significant other is a male nurse for the past 7 years. He recently ran into a situation that I'm sure a female would never encounter and when he first told me about it, I was ready to blow it off as stupid....but it's not....here goes.

He works in a large,trauma ER. A female nurse (fairly new grad with little experience) recently came to him and asked for help disempacting a female pt. She'd never done it and didn't know how to.He went to the room with her, demonstrated the procedure and thought all was done...
    The following shift, He was notified that the patient called adm and complained that she'd been sexually violated by the male nurse! Fortunately, the female nurse had remained in the room beside him and can testify otherwise, but...
    If she notifies the police he can be arrested....if she purseues the allegations he will be suspended from the hospital until it's settled and will be unalbe to work...