Thread: Help Selecting a School

Question Help Selecting a School

Hi.

I am a university graduate with a Bachelor's of the Arts in a completely unrelated field. After much contemplation and discussion with friends + family I have decided to try to go back to school for a bachelor's in Nursing.

I am currently living in NYC and would prefer to stay here, but I think NYU and Columbia are much too difficult for me to get accepted. What other schools would you recommend? I would also be willing to move to California, Toronto, and maybe Seattle.

Unfortunately, there is another issue. I hate bringing this up because I don't want it to define me as a person, but I think it has some relevance here. I was born with a major heart defect and serious other issues, which led to a rare dysfunction with over a 50% mortality rate. I was even given a Make-A-Wish. These past few years I have been doing very well. In fact, I do so well that I think people are often shocked if they hear about my past. To get to the point, my struggles in my past greatly affected my schooling and studies (which I put on the back burner to deal with obviously more important issues). My grades are low compared to others. I think I graduated with a 3.0, but some classes that might be important to Nursing (Science for example) have some really low grades.

I originally thought to do the accelerated Nursing program I noticed some schools offer for non-Nursing Bachelor degree holders, but with my grades, I am unsure if I would qualify.

Thanks for any and all help! It is greatly appreciated and I just want to show my love for all you nurses out there =)

Josh.

Smile Re: Help Selecting a School