Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Male nursing students/nurses

Male nursing students/nurses

I am a male nursing student in the midst of my second year of schooling towards a degree. I find the underlying of most everything in this program to be oriented towards women, whether it be the lack of pictures of male nurses in the text books or the necessity of describing one's "feelings" for a good grade.
    My working years, to date, have been in male oriented areas, and I am increasingly aware of the inequity of acceptance and opportunity available to men entering nursing. The stereotype of nursing being for "women only" greatly influenced me by decreasing my desire to be a nurse, for many years, and still at times I feel the subtle segregation of being one of only three males in a class of 26.
    Positive promotion of men in nursing is absent. The most recent portrayals have been "Oswald" from "The Drew Carey Show", "Jack" from "Will & Grace", and Ben Stiller's character on "Meet the Parents", which have all had negative connotations attached to them.
    I feel it is necessary to promote a "male-friendly" image of nursing that will encourage men to decide on nursing as a career option.
    Opinions and comments on ways that this can be accomplished or on my experiences and thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Male nursing students/nurses

Yeah, "Will and Grace really PISSES ME OFF!!!!!"

I really want to choke those people

O.K.

I do not agree with how sitcoms portray male nurses, and even being a gay man myself, who happens to be a nursing student, instead of getting mad, I just have to look at it and laugh, because if I let it get to me - it will stop me from doing what I want to do.