Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CNA vs. EMT

CNA vs. EMT

Hello everyone!

I have a question in regards to being a CNA vs. EMT. I'm working on getting accepted into a MN program with the goal of working as an RN in acute/trauma types of environments.

I have been a chiropractor for almost twelve years in private practice. My question is...which certification would be more beneficial for me...CNA or EMT?

Chris

Re: CNA vs. EMT

EMT, but if you're a chiropractor why go for RN if you don't mind me asking. (I don't know the difference in school etc, but aren't you a doctor?)

CNA's bascially help with activities of daily living. So you'd be trained in transfers, feeding, dressing, and vitals.

EMT- you'd be trained in handling the basics of trauma and emergency situations. I'd think that experience would make it easier to land an ER position, where CNA might make it easier to work med/surg or NH.

AprilRN,

Thanks for the advice...I'm leaning towards the EMT route.

Yes...I am a Doctor of Chiropractic...the title does not mean much to me though. As an RN I would be able to focus more on patient care in an acute setting and less on administrative duties. As a business owner I spend too much time and energy running the business which takes away from serving people to the best of my ability.

There are more reasons, but I want to keep this post short. Hope this answers your "why" question.

Chris

I've looked into doing EMT as well, though with my work schedule and kids the classes just aren't an option for me right now.

Ricu