Thread: Want to be a nurse again

Want to be a nurse again

Hi All,

I am a recovering nurse with more than 10yrs in the program. I have a current unrestricted license in Illinois which I keep current however I live in Southern California. I have been working in occupational health and safety positions that have not required a nursing license therefore I have not attempted to get a California license (why go through the hassle when its not necessary, right?) I was recently laid off from my job and have toyed with the idea of going back to nursing in a psychiatric setting for the past couple of yrs. My question ? Has anyone that has completed probation and recovery programs in another state had to get a California license that could advise me of what they will expect and how are the job prospects in Southern California? Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Ruthi

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar
    Well I don't know what the state to state issues might be. Did you go through a recovery program in Illinois? When I completed my program here in CA my record was expunged - so there is no record on my California license. If Illinois is a compact state you may just be able to apply for a job under you current license I'm not sure how any of that works. If at all possible I would do whatever you can to avoid getting caught up in Califonia's diversion program. It won't kill you but will add an extra element of stress you don't need if you truley have been in recovery 10 years and are living sober.