Thread: first assignment

first assignment

hi everyone,
    this is my first post, i have been thinking about travel nursing since nursing school and finally i am ready. i reside in texas but i was thinking about going to cali for my first assignment, i wanted to get some feedback on what you all think. should i stay in texas and do a local contract first or should i go for something farer and more exciting? please let me know. any personal input would be greatly appreciated.

I just posted something about this. I would just paste the link, but it hasn't been approved yet, so I will paste it below. I am not trying to spam, I just feel my post directly relates to this situation. If any moderator feel differently, please feel free to delete the post.

I have been a nurse for 4 years. I work almost exclusively ICU. I started traveling a year ago in California, due to the abundance of high paying positions in the area. I have now worked at 3 different CA hospitals with 2 different agencies and I have a new perspective on travel nursing for all the newbies or thinking-about-traveling nurses. I am posting my experience because I see one post after another asking for opinions on traveling, agencies, and hospitals. So, here's something to think about.