Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Healthcare Reform strikes again.

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar

Healthcare Reform strikes again.

Notified two weeks ago that under provisions allowed in Obamacare - Medicare and medicaid will no longer pay for routine screenings for prostate cancer. Also routine bone density scan will no longer be covered. So much for affordable access............

Peace

Hppy

Although not surprising, these moves are depressing.

To hppygr8ful: please, please, please, if you have come across such information, list the source. There is an ample supply of mis-leading information circulating online and as a nurse, I think it responsible and wise to verify sources of information BEFORE putting that information out for people to see.

If you go to http://www.medicare.gov/Publications/Pubs/pdf/10110.pdf you will find that these services ARE covered and coverage has INCREASED since January 2011.

See page 16 for Prostate screening and page 19 for Bone Density screenings.

Peace to you too!

I don't think my previous reply was posted properly, so I'm an going to try again.

Please verify the source of your information - "Medicare and medicaid will no longer pay for routine screenings for prostate cancer. Also routine bone density scan will no longer be covered. So much for affordable access"

There is so much mis-information circulating on the internet, one should verify anything before posting. As well, when you post such information, it would be more creditable if you would post the source of the information.

Posting that "Obamacare" (Proper name - Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act) is no longer paying for Prostate Screenings and Bone Density tests is not true.

Please refer to pages 16 and 19 at http://www.medicare.gov/Publications/Pubs/pdf/10110.pdf You will see that payment has actually increased for Bone Density scans as of January 2011.