Thread: Hey

Unhappy Hey

I've been traveling for over 13 years and now I find myself unable to find a job. I have my ADN, but it seems people want a BS over experience especially in the permanent setting. I have 17 years of experience and it is so frustrating. I'm starting to get disappointed in the nursing profession as a whole which is something I don't want to do.

Hi Ozz,

Sadly the nursing market is tightening the reign on qualifications. No doubt you are a well qualified nurse with excellent skills and I'm sorry that you're finding it difficult to locate a job. My recommendation is based upon what you envision your occupational future to be. If you want to stay in the nursing industry, enroll in a BSN or higher program because as you have experienced, it is expected. I know, because after 27 years, I completed a BSN and am currently enrolled in a MSN-FNP program. I have probably 20 more years to go in the workforce before retirement and after 30+ years in critical care, I feel that family practice is where I belong.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working
    Welcome to the site!

Yeah, it's tough out there.....TRUST me! I've posted quite a few posts about 'What nursing shortage?' out there.

Hope to see you around here often.

BTW, I have a degree.....