Thread: Any tips for studying for Nursing Boards?

Any tips for studying for Nursing Boards?

Hi,
    I am a new RN graduate and I am wondering if anyone could give me tips on studying for the nursing boards. I am terrified. Pleeease can you give me some good advice.:eek:

Re: Any tips for studying for Nursing Boards?

It's been a long time since I had to take the NCLEX now (20 years!), but way back in the dark ages when I did I found that those of us who relaxed the night before at the hotel & didn't try to study that night passed while those that stressed out and tried study sessions in groups or tried to cram didn't pass.

So my first word of advise is this. You really either know the stuff by now or you won't at the last minute so DO relax the night before taking the exams. After all, every day you've been in nursing school has been preparing you to think the way you need to think, to pass nursing exams designed to prepare you for the NCLEX, and to give you the knowledge you need to pass it. You know a LOT more than you give yourself credit for already!

BUT-- many fellow students from my class also used NCLEX prep books and prep courses as well. Kaplan has been conducting NCLEX test prep since my school days at least and lots of nurses swear by them, so if you feel you need some more structured preparation that might make sense too.
    NCLEX® Resources & Prep

I agree with the above post.. You know this stuff already... I would advise against any last min. cramming... The more you try and last min cram. the more your gonna freak yourself out.... Kick back and relax the two days before the exam.. ****.. Have a drink... What ever it takes.. Go into take the NCLEX, calm, cool, and collected... You'll be fine.. You Know what you need to know.. It's all good.. Keep your composure and it will be fine..

I would have to agree with everyone else. You already know what you need to know for the NCLEX. On the night before, relax and have some fun (just not too much fun).