Thread: To pull or not to pull (That is the question)

Question To pull or not to pull (That is the question)

Hi folks
    This is my first posting so bear with me. I am an Cardiac ICU nurse. Technically just getting my feet wet (3 years). I have decided to work the crazy shift 11a-11p. So I come in when crap is hitting the fan, love it in the ICU hate it on the floor. When our census is low I can get pulled 2 out of my 3 shifts. That's not the problem I can deal with it. But, the problem lies here, I could recieve 2 patients on the ICU at 11 am then come 3 pm I have to give those patients up because it is "my turn" to get pulled. I give report go to the floor and pick up 5 patients. Attempt to do my assessments, give meds and trouble shoot by 7 pm then I am needed back in the ICU. I fumble through my report and head back to the unit to get report on 2 additional patients (not the ones I had before). Unfortunately this also happens to the 7a-7p nurses. Where is the continuity of care???
    My question is, are there any laws against pulling for 4 hrs?
    By the end of the day I forget my own name not to mention the patients. Thank god for name band identification before meds! I drive home with knots in my stomach.
    IS THIS CRAZY OR JUST REALITY!!!!!!

Ricu

Re: To pull or not to pull (That is the question)

Quote Originally Posted by Bouche
    Hi folks