Thread: Ive lost my confidence

Ive lost my confidence

Ok. Here goes. I graduated with a BSN about 2 years ago. My previous job was in a VERY male combat role in the military. I went into nursing because i needed a career that was stable and rewarding. I have always been a nurturer. I know that is hard to believe because of my military background. But it is true. I think i actually learned this in the military. We truly were a "band of Brothers." Anyway, I really enjoyed nursing school.. It was tough but I made it through. All of the female students really enjoyed each other. Me included. ANyway, about midway through my second clinical semester I was doing pediatrics. I had this clinical instructor who I had taken the previous semester and who I thought was a great instructor. So i decided to take another clinical with her. You remember the drill right? You go to the unit the night before you get patients assigned and read everything about the patient and then go prepare with your big 50 pound text books and medical dictionarys and other books. Well, I walked into this poor little guysroom and he had 5 IV's running. He had a feeding tube. He was in a body cast. I thought to myself, "OK..you can do this....you will have a nurse with you...just ask for help....go home tonight and hit the books and you can get through this." Well, that was my first mistake. THe next day came and i went in there and did my best. No worse than any of the other students....my meds were checked by the nurse and given by the nurse...all correct. I managed to change in and out of the paper sterile gowns every time i went into the room. One other student got pooped on by her student and the clinical instructor went totally berserk...."Oh MYGAWD, YOU ARE GOING TO CONTAMINATE THE ENTIRE FLOOR." anyway, she made us all nervous....But i made ith through the 2 days. I thought pheww........I made it...Next week comes and I get the weekly progress report..I failed the first week.... I went too her