Thread: Help!

Unhappy Help!

Hi All,

I am a new grad lpn since June. I have been working med-surg since July. I love what I do but hate where I work :mad: and I need different hours due to family matters. I am concerned that I have'nt been a nurse for 6 months and it may hurt to leave a job so soon but the place I work at is dangerous in my oppinion especially for a new nurse. Advice is needed please help:confused: . Thanks in advance.
    lpn614

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar

Re: Help!

Quote Originally Posted by LPN614
    Hi All,

I am a new grad lpn since June. I have been working med-surg since July. I love what I do but hate where I work :mad: and I need different hours due to family matters. I am concerned that I have'nt been a nurse for 6 months and it may hurt to leave a job so soon but the place I work at is dangerous in my oppinion especially for a new nurse. Advice is needed please help:confused: . Thanks in advance.
    lpn614
    It never hurts to look around - It took me a while to find a facility where I was truely happy but it was well worth the wait. Most hospitals will hire an inexperienced nurse if he/she is will to learn the job. Just start looking around - I found that making personal calls to department directors worked better than just submitting resumes to HR. The reason is they may invite you for an informal interview - then when you go HR they already know and like you.

By all means stay where you are while you are looking! Everyday there is another day of experience - If you feel an assignment is unsafe by all means say so but do it in a professional manner. Most facilities will give you some time to get comfortable with your duties because we all know what happens in Nursing school has almost no resemblance with actual nursing.

good luck

Hppygr8ful

Wink Re: Help!

Hi All,

lpn614