Thread: Question about localized peripheral edema..please help?!

Question about localized peripheral edema..please help?!

Question about localized peripheral edema?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,
    this is my first post ever, so please correct me if I am doing anything wrong. My patient is 11 years old, he has Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome (a rare form of epilepsy), chronic lung disease, and he is mentally and physically disabled. He is completely dependent for ADL's, can't walk, talk,etc.. My question is this.. He has developed swelling in his left arm from his wrist to his shoulder. Lungs and heart sounds are clear. NO pitting, the arm is not warm , and the color is the same as the other arm. Could there be a blockage Blood or lymphedema perhaps? I am stumped by the cause of this swelling. I am a new nurse with little experience, and would be very grateful if you could give me some ideas of what could be happening here. This is the second time this has happened to him in the past two weeks, and before this it has never occurred according to his parents. please give me some insights.?? Thank you.

I also had this thread posted in a different forum, so disregard that if you see it there until I get it deleted thanks.

Member Extraordinaire

Re: Question about localized peripheral edema..please help?!

what does the doctor say? what tests have been done? does it go away with positioning? is that arm dependent? I would think if it goes away it's not blockage.

Quote Originally Posted by andreabenetrn
    Question about localized peripheral edema?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,