Thread: Nursing in America

Smile Nursing in America

Hi all,I am an irish nurse who's been thinking alot recently about relocating to the US.I obtained my diploma in general adult nursing in Ireland and I then moved to Scotland and obtained BN mental health nursing and I am now hoping to do my Masters after the New Year.
    Being bluntly honest I am feeling that Ive put alot of time and energy into my career and now that Im on the payrole I feel like just another number and Im more and more feeling like there is no thanks or support in my line of work.So to(finally) get to the point...I want a change!Id really appreciate any advise that anyone could give me about working in the US...Californa in particular seems the appeal to me.Im starting from the beginning so information on registering in Californa,healthcare,wages,general relocation advise,Nclex etc...any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks

Re: Nursing in America

Hi Dimc! I would post the same question under the state of California here in the Forum since that is your choice state so far. I think nurses that live or have worked there could help you better with your questions. All I know is that California is a very expensive state to live in, but their nursing wages are somewhat higher compared to the other states -- to make up somehow for the cost of living. Good luck to you!

dimc -- come to Minnesota instead!

With your ability to withstand Ireland's and Scotland's winters, you'd fit right in here and you'd love our lakes and our summers!

You've taken all the right steps for a start. When you DO come to work here (or in California) be most careful whom you choose to work for. Do as much homework inspecting the reputation of your potential employer as you do to prepare yourself for licensure here -- or you may end up feeling like a number again!