Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new career move...

new career move...

Hello, I know i'm posting another topic on career change but I didn't want to hi-jack av8orguy's thread.

I am 25yrs old, so a couple of years out of school. I graduated College with a degree in Biology, decent grades (not applying myself) and I now work in Finance. I started off with a finance company and was promoted to branch manager for 1.5yrs and I'm now a Mortgage loan officer for another company. I'm looking at trying to become a (CRNA) Certified Regisitered Nurse Anesthetist. And my main drive is for the money. My mother and grandmother are both RN's so I've been around the enviroment all my life. MY main questions are, short of meeting with an admissions advisor, what all is involved in me becoming an RN? I Know schooling but would my previous degree save me on a lot of the prereq's? From what I have gathered the process would involve me becoming an RN, at least 1yr ICU/ER work, then apply for CNRA program of 24-36 months depending on the program.

The bottom line is I have the POTENTIAL (key word) to make the same amount of money at my current job, but it's a lot of calling and to be honest it's almost like cold calling, except for it's current customer leads. 100k+ is really appealing to me AND I love science/biology work.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated, I have been tossing this idea around for about two weeks now and I've discussed it with my Fiance` and she's very supportive as is my mother. Thanks!

Re: new career move...

no replies or thoughts? :confused:

how about this anyone know how much malpractice insurance runs?

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Malpractice WILL run a bit more; call a few insurance companies. Try CNA for starts.

Lightbulb Re: new career move...