Thread: nurses get paid good money

nurses get paid good money

I graduated three years ago with a degree in Computer Science. I was extremely dissapointed with the starting pay and the difficulty landing an entry level IT position; 50 applicants for 1 opening is typical. I had to beg and repeatedly call these companies to even get a phone interview. Failing to land an IT job, I was stuck working low paying $7-9/hour jobs.

I landed a job working at a hospital as an assistant for $12 hour. I was able to observe various health professions and see what their job was like. I talked to many techs and nurses. Many tech's didn't go into nursing because of the working conditions. Some of the tech's were nurses and then changed over to tech's. I really didn't like X-ray, most of the tech's seemed lazy and would sit around gossiping all day.

Nursing I think is better for me for a number of reasons. First the pay in nursing is very attractive compared to other jobs. I know the working conditions, hours, and stress is difficult, however at the hospital I worked at Nurses got paid $30/hour. For 30/hour hour you can kick me, call me names, scream at me, spit on me, work me to death, bite my ear off, I don't care. I would be tickled pink to be making that kind of money no matter what the working conditions were.

I see homeless people on the street, housekeepers making next to nothing, walmart greeters and I fear this is where I am going to end up if I don't do something. I wouldn't of invested four years into college if I knew I would be working at the poverty level. I need to go back to school and get another degree in something that will land me a better job, nursing or special education are the two areas I am thinking of. Nurses get paid way better then special education teachers so I am learning more toward nursing. Teaching Special education doesn't require as much cognitive ability as nursing, according to the Bell Curve, and the job is a slower pace job.