Hey all, I hope I'm posting this in the proper forum. So I'm a third-year nursing student and am in the process of applying for an externship for summer '07. Recently a recruiter e-mailed me a list of positions/descriptions, prompting me to select those of interest. I read through each, but still don't really have a great idea of what each entails, so any help anyone could give, especially any current CRNAs, would be great!!

Basically, I plan to eventually apply to a CRNA program following graduation/work experience. I was advised to take an externship in some form of critical care, so this is what I requested when I applied at places. I'm just wondering if this is a good idea? Because I noticed in another thread that a lot of people recommend working on a regular floor before working in any sort of critical care, (even though I technically won't be working, but shadowing a nurse as an extern). Any advice on this would be extremely appreciated, and also below I will copy/paste the following positions to give more insight...

SILVERSTEIN 10 is a 35 bed adult cardiac surgery unit with telemetry capabilities for cardiac monitoring. Of those 35 beds nine have the ability to be monitored as Intermediate Care, allowing a higher level of care to those patients with specialized care needs.

The population consists of pre-and postoperative open heart surgical patients including but not limited to those undergoing Coronary Artery Bypass Graft, Aortic Valve Replacement, Mitral Valve Replacement, and Thoracoabdominal aneursym Repair.

In addition, those patients who receive heart and/or lung transplantation are cared for postoperatively. Primary nurses work with Nurse Practitioners and an interdisciplinary team to meet physical, emotional, educational, and discharge planning needs of the patient and families to promote an optimal level of wellness.
---