Thread: New Student-18yrs. old-seeking advice

New Student-18yrs. old-seeking advice

Hi! I just found this site today. It has really been helpful. This is my first semester in college. I am 18, and I am not positive what to do with the rest of my life. I was originally an electrical engineering major. That is what my dad wanted me to do. I am very interested in nursing, but I am not sure if it is for me. I love people, and I love serving people. I am not really worried about the course-work, but do you have any advice on getting some experience? Would you advise getting my CNA certification or what? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: New Student-18yrs. old-seeking advice

Hi, i am also new to this site, just found it today. I am a nursing major and i am also in my first semester of college. I am very excited about my nursing career, luckily my parents didnt push me into anything else. I did the first 36 hours of my CNA traing this august and I plan on getting the next 75 hours on December. Im lucky because my college doesnt require you to actually be certified, just take the course. I have applied for a job at a local hospital that is also where i am a Scholar, and they are paying for me to go to school and i will pay them back while working for them. Other then that, im in the same boat. I am excited to get out of my general education courses and actually get into nursing. You should definitly check into nursing, there are so many opportunities

Hello Everyone,

I've been a nurse about seven years and don't have too many regrets about going in. I'll always have a job I like, can work in a dozen different types of nursing depending on what I want to do at a particular time.

Before you go much further, your eyes should probably be opened to what you're in for.