Thread: Male Nurses and their relationships with Doctors

Male Nurses and their relationships with Doctors

I am a new nursing student, a male, age 48. I am doing a paper on the stereotypical views of men in nursing, and after doing a lot of reading on this excellent website about that issue, I believe I have a pretty good handle on the views that other nurses have of men in this profession.

What I have not found much information on so far is how do doctors view male nurses in the working enviroment? Are they treated on an equal basis with the female nurses, or is there a clash of personalities that goes along with the stratifcation of skills? Or, is there a bias towards a male/male relationship. What about male nurses and female doctors, how well does that relationship mesh, speaking as a working relationship, not personal?

It would be great if some of the men that work closely with doctors, such as OR or ER positions let me know their experiences, or even better yet if some doctors themselves would let me know their feelings.

Thanks for everyone's input.

Re: Male Nurses and their relationships with Doctors

I would say on a general basis male nurses are treated much better than their female counterparts but I will let everyone else speak on their own experiences.

Heyas,