Thread: Rehab, sobriety, and licensing.

Rehab, sobriety, and licensing.

Hi all,

I'm a prospective student. I've been clean and sober 14 years and was in a rehab 14 years ago. I'm wondering if any knows if state Board's look unkindly on rehab stays. If they ask I intend to answer honestly, of course. Do they ask? If one answers affirmative does it negatively affect one's chances?

I've no drug or alcohol convictions per se, just a couple silly misdemeanors from 18 plus years ago and an unfortunate recent misdemeanor I'm opting for non-conviction diversion on. That last one is unfortunate because it's embarrassing and was really out of character for me. There's a back story but it's just boring. All the misdemeanors are so-called passive ones, i.e. no violence or drugs or molestation or fraud or anything listed as the type of thing that automatically disqualifies people from nursing. Anyway, I've been advised by the CA BRN that if I demonstrate exemplary behavior, seek some counseling, get good evals and letters from professors, and write a good explanation then I shouldn't worry about it. But, I worry about it still. And I worry that coupled with the recovery issue it might make me seem not as morally upright as I know myself to be.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I am not soliciting legal advice, just interested in what experiences people have had or heard about.

Thanks!

Re: Rehab, sobriety, and licensing.

I would think that since its been so long ago that THOSE shouldn't matter. You of course have to pass a drug test and they can do a sobriety test at any time. I am not sure about the RECENT misdemeanor. I THINK they only ask about felonies. But, no one would have to know you were in counseling and if that was something you wanted to bring out in the open then I would suggest personally talking to your nursing coordinator, that way SHE would be the only one who had to know. No Students and no other teachers. Just a thought