Thread: Rehab, sobriety, and licensing

Rehab, sobriety, and licensing

Hi all,

I'm a prospective student. I've been clean and sober 14 years and was in a rehab 14 years ago. I'm wondering if any knows if state Board's look unkindly on rehab stays. If they ask I intend to answer honestly, of course. Do they ask? If one answers affirmative does it negatively affect one's chances?

I've no drug or alcohol convictions per se, just a couple silly misdemeanors from 18 plus years ago and an unfortunate recent misdemeanor I'm opting for non-conviction diversion on. That last one is unfortunate because it's embarrassing and was really out of character for me. There's a back story but it's just boring. All the misdemeanors are so-called passive ones, i.e. no violence or drugs or molestation or fraud or anything listed as the type of thing that automatically disqualifies people from nursing. Anyway, I've been advised by the CA BRN that if I demonstrate exemplary behavior, seek some counseling, get good evals and letters from professors, and write a good explanation then I shouldn't worry about it. But, I worry about it still. And I worry that coupled with the recovery issue it might make me seem not as morally upright as I know myself to be.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I am not soliciting legal advice, just interested in what experiences people have had or heard about.

Thanks!

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar

Re: Rehab, sobriety, and licensing

Quote Originally Posted by sailorman12 View Post
    Hi all,

I'm a prospective student. I've been clean and sober 14 years and was in a rehab 14 years ago. I'm wondering if any knows if state Board's look unkindly on rehab stays. If they ask I intend to answer honestly, of course. Do they ask? If one answers affirmative does it negatively affect one's chances?