Thread: Hi from Australia

Hi from Australia

Hi Guys,

My name is Nikki and I live and work in Australia. I work in the emergency department of a large private hospital in Melbourne.

I'm looking forward to hitting the forums and reading about other nurses experiences.

Nikki

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: Hi from Australia

Welcome to the Forums, Nikki! Glad to have you with us. I hope you drop by often, as I would love to hear about "The Land Down Under".

How long have you been a nurse?

'Cat'

Hi Cat,

I have been a nurse for a little over a year. I was kind of a late starter, but I'm glad I finally "followed by calling". I'm new to the ER, having just moved from Agency nursing, where I worked in many different areas (including the ER). to now being based full time in just the ER. It's an exciting time for me as my passion is critical care/trauma nursing.

I stumbled upon this site last night, it looks like a great place.

Nikki

Hello to land down under!

Are the ER's in Australia very busy and backed up as they are here? Not enough staff and LOTS of work???? patient's woho really could have seen the doctor during the day but because they have their free treatment card (m.cal) find it more convenient to stop by in the ER. I'm curiuos if medicine is practiced any different there...we're not allowd to turn anyone away, it's the law and no matter how many patient's we have and how little stffing we must stay open. What is it like working in Australia's emergency room?

Sincerely,
    Mrs. Ernurse
    www.tahoecabinrentals.com/lakeviewcabin/
    short term leases for travel nurses

Hi MrsEnurse,