Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting fired

Getting fired

Dear All:

I am a recent graduate who was just fired from my first hospital job. They cited my poor time management/inefficiency as the main reason.

My question is this: what is the best way to address this termination when interviewing with future potential employers.

Also, does anyone know good time-management courses geared specifically for nurses and other healthcare professionals or be able to offer some general time-management tips for this rookie.

Thank you for reading this.

Re: Getting fired

Do the time mgmt/efficiency issues have anything to do with the area you were working? Not all nurses are created equal, thank goodness! Perhaps you would be better off in another area better suited for you? Your next employer might be needing the type nurse you will become. Med/ Surg is a good area for people that are good at time mgmt partly because of the multiple tasks for multiple patients. Some are better at Emergency- thinking fast, triage, codes and trauma stress. You may want to make your future employer aware that you have other skills, whatever they may be.
    :cool:

Ricu

Let me say that your letter surprises me. From what you write, it appears as though you were going along business as usual and then suddenly got fired. If that is what happened, do you believe the termination was fair? Were you given adequate orientation? Were you given regular performance appraisals which cited time management and organization as areas needing improvement? Assuming that this was so and an action plan was put in place, did you follow it? Seldom does a nurse just get terminated especially a new graduate. New hire orientation and mentor programs are designed to help the new nurse become efficient and seminars for time management and organization are all over the place. I wonder why it took the loss of your job for you to begin looking.

Cab you tell us any more?
    R