Thread: Male nurses needed

Male nurses needed

Hello, I'm a nursing student and I have to write a paper on something that I want to know. I wanted to know why there are so few male nurses. If possible, can people reply to these few questions. thank you very much.

1. How long have you been a nurse?
    2. When did you start your nursing studes?
    3. Where you ever ridiculed for being a nurse and how?
    4. Are you happy with your career choice and what other careers have you tried?
    5. What are the advantages and disadvantages to being a male nurse?
    6. How do male and female patients act differently around you?

Any othe stories or comments will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Male nurses needed

Hello,

#1. Got graduated/licensed in 1997.

#2. 1995, 1 year Accelerated program for students with existing Bachelor degrees. Started pre-reqs in 1995, then nursing curriculum in 1996.

#3. I'm often asked if I'm gay, why I didn't go to medical school instead, how can I stand handling bodily fluids and excrement all day long.

#4. Very happy. The work is fulfilling, will always have a job, can go home every day knowing I've made a difference. Worked as a lab tech in hospital previously.

#5. Advantages include I don't intimidate easy, can handle the physical portions of the job relatively easily, not afraid to advocate for my patients when doctors or family members are acting like idiots. Men tend to advance further faster in nursing up the career ladder.

Disadvantages, there is a definite Gender Bias against men in nursing. There are some "seasoned" nurses who don't believe men should be in nursing so they tend to ride them harder in nursing school and out in the field.

This article illustrates the sentiment clearly: