Thread: Stay or Go???

Stay or Go???

I've been a nurse for 13 years, last 7.5 in the ER. I've never been written up in the 13 years I've been a nurse...until now. Unhappy patient receives different dx from another hospital - writes letter and finds fault with EVERYTHING we did for him. Pt. had 3 BM's, I documented each, Pt. stated that, after his 3rd BM "my nurse said she didn't look at the other two, why should she look at this one!" I did document all three in the PN. So, that part I'm o'kay on. He and family state that "the nurses made comments about the smell" R/T his BM's - I have absolutely no recollection of this occurring. Aparently, either do my co-workers. I was written up anyway for behaving "unprofessionally" with the patient. My nurse manager stated "How do you think it makes me look when someone writes a letter to the CEO of the hospital about my department?" Someone had to take a fall, and I was the "chosen one". This was a serious write up, a "class two", one more and I will be terminated. Now I find myself paranoid about my job. I see every patient as a potential complaint - and I no longer believe "the truth will set you free", now I know, the truth doesn't matter - my nurse manager and the hospital saving face, that is what matters. I feel betrayed. I second guess everything I say to the patients now. I was beginning to feel a bit burned out, and now I dread going to work each day. I love the ER, I think of my co-workers as extended family members - I'm really confused and don't know what to do. Yes, I'm also hurt. I live in a rural area, and I am the primary bread winner for my family - not many job options in this area. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Dicussing this with my boss is NOT an option, he is a little man with a BIG complex, and ALWAYS has to be right. He would be very pleased with himself if he knew the effect this has had on me. Thanks, P.S. my call name is NOT a reflection on my abilities as a nurse, but my initials!!