Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Experience Talking

Talking Experience Talking

I have been a contract/travel nurse on and off for the past 6 years. What have I found? The company you work for is kind of important, BUT your recruiter can make or break your life on the road. I started out with Professional Nursing Services out of Salt Lake City, UT. My first assignment and I drove up to a project housing apartment. Literally the police told me I couldn't stay there because it wasn't safe. Then I went to American Mobile Nurses. After finding a nurse with a considerable amount of years expeirence LESS than I had, in the same department, for the same company was making about $12.00/hr more than I...my recruiter told me..."It's nothing personal, it's just business." OH...I left that company also. Then I found RN Network. Not really the company, but my recruiter Stacy B. and her compadre Dorothy. I have been with them for almost 3 years. If something goes wrong, they fix it and work it out with the company later. If I find a hitch in the middle of my contract...they amend it. Did you know contracts can be negotiated in the middle of one? I didn't until I met Stacy and Dorothy. If I paint myself into a corner, they help me out until I can get out of the corner. I know, we nurses live and learn. WE are a caring bunch who forget to take care of ourselves. Anyhoo....I just wanted you to know how happy I am and that I have learned a lot over the past 6 years. I may not make the highest dollar amount out there but it's pretty darn close. and I wouldn't trade my safety net (Stacy and Dorothy)for any amount of money. They have NEVER let me down. And you know what? It IS personal. My recruiter is my friend.

Re: Experience Talking