Thread: Want your input ! please join discussion

Want your input ! please join discussion

Hello All, I am a nursing student currently taking an issues in nursing class, I need help with and assignment. There is alot of info about the current global nursing shortage and I am interested how this has affected you in your practise and if there have been initiative in your institutions that addresses job satisfactinon and the workplace environment. To do something different for this assingment I wanted to create a disscussion about nursing recruitment and retenion in nursing. I know this has been discussed before thru various forums before but I am interested in real stores how this has impacted you. I invite everyone to participate to get this discussion off the ground. Thanks for your participation.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: Want your input ! please join discussion

This should interest you: http://www.ultimatenurse.com/forum/f...fession-33869/

Glut of nurses there......

Thank you for the redirect to this intersting artical. This adds insight as to why a contingincy of government and health authority officials made a trip to the Philippines to recruit nearly 300 nurses to fill vacant positions. For me this raises a few ethical issuse pertaining to "poching" other countires to ease the shortfall of nurses we have here in Canada, regardless the "glut" of nurses in other countries. The article makes a good point. Are nurses entering the profession for the right reasons?, I can understand these nurses wanting to escape to a better life, but is it a better life for them? this is something they will have to decide for themselves. The big question is this the best thing for the nursing profession? who knows, but it seem to be a quick fix for the time being.

Thanks for taking time to reply. It is interesting to see someone elses paradigm.