Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dont Nurses Know Their Math Anymore?

Dont Nurses Know Their Math Anymore?

This morning I was counting the narcotics with a licensed practical nurse. I am a registered nurse. This nurse has been an LPN for about 12 years. I have been a nurse for a total of 12 years. That shouldnt really matter, but the question I have does.

We are counting a certain narcotic. Where you can write the narcotic amount given many of the nurses are putting in 1/2, I put in .5 which is the amount that the doc has prescribed. ok, 1/2 or .5. All the same. Right? The LPN has a fit, runs to the other RN who is getting ready to take over for me and tells him that I am wrong. He tells her that there is nothing wrong with what I wrote. She huffs and finally after a few minutes of goofing off we get the narcotic count right.

I am tired of being belittled by nurses who think they know more than me. This happens quite a bit at the facility where I work. I had a LPN tell me that 1/4 was not .25 I am ready to scream.

Any suggestions?

Re: Dont Nurses Know Their Math Anymore?

Hi MaRiNa, welcome to the forums. Without knowing the exact drug of which you speak it is hard to say who is right. The only instance when you cannot substitute 0.5 for 1/2 is when the dosage is in Grains.O_S

It should be addressed in your P & P. If not, I think it should not matter. Most places though want .5 vs 0.5. But in all my education, 1/2 = .5.

hi, and thanks for posting. The order is for .5 which should actually be 0.5 mg for clarification. Many of the nurses are writing in 1/2 in the narcotic sheet. I write in .5 because that is the order. It is written clearly on the medication card, and the MAR. I dont know whether its a matter of just wanting to put 1/2 because its 1/2 a tab, the tabs are cut in half by the pharmacy, or just because the nurses dont know you can go by the order that the doctor has written out.