Thread: New Nursing Student (seeking funding)

New Nursing Student (seeking funding)

****o all,

I'm new to this forum. i'm not a nurse yet but i'm looking forward to becoming one. I'm 21 and currently attempting to finish all the prereq's to get into a bsn program.

Everyone i know tells me that there is such a high demand for male nurses especially, that finding funding should prove simple. i have come to nothing but problems. I live in Denver. Could this be my problem? Am I not asking the right questions or talking to the right people?

I would appreciate any help that anyone could offer as far as who to talk to and what questions to ask specifically.

thanks in advance

Omer

Hi Omer...
    I am a second year ADN student and have gone through the financial aid process for this degree as well as my first degree, a BS in biology. I attended Western State College in Gunnison (CO) for my BS, and I can tell you that getting financial aid is indeed very simple. Your being in Denver has nothing to do with your difficulty. And if we are talking about federal or state aid, it matters not whether you are male or female. There is quite possibly private aid available for male nurses (I am female, so I have no idea) in the form of scholarships and grants- you will need to work with the financial aid office at your school to acquire those dollars. But there are still plenty of public grants and loans available to all students that will be more than enough to help get you through school.

What sort of problems getting aid are you having specifically? And what avenues have you explored? The very best place to start is the financial aid office at your school. They should put you on the right track.