Thread: Please Help-Questions

Question Please Help-Questions

Long story short. Im a nurse in Pennsylvania. I had diverted Dilaudid 7-8x using the override function on the Pyxis Machine. I was confronted by my nurse manager and was honest about what i did. They told me it was necessary to report to the state but they did not think charges would be filed. I entered in the voluntary recovery program and am currently in intensive outpatient. I've been clean for 30 days now.

Today i recieved a call from the attorney generals office and they stated I was being charged with misdemeanor theft. Im thankful it's not a felony charge but this is really testing my recovery/sobriety. If anyone has answers/suggestions to the following questions, please post them for me.

1- Is it necessary to have a lawyer? I'm in financial crisis as is and adding lawyer fees is not what i need right now?

2- Does this affect my participation in VRP?

3- How does this affect trying to get a job in the future? My former employer said they'd allow me to interview when deemed OK by the state.

4- What kind of fines/court costs am i looking at?

Thank you in advance. I'll probably be spending the rest of the day in NA/AA to ensure I don't pick up because the urge is extremely strong right now. I knew I had a long road ahead of me, but it feels each gain I make is met with more bad news. Thanks again.

Re: Please Help-Questions

Please get in touch with your sponsor immediately. You should never face criminal proceeedings or have anything to do with the Board without having consulted a lawyer. Contact the local referral service or the local chapter of the Bar and ask for a "modest means" referral. They usually will give you a 30 minute free consultation and then low fee visits afterward ($25 or so). Other questions will be answered as time goes on. Maybe someone who has had a similar experience can offer their experiences. Good luck with your proceedings and with your sobriety.