Thread: Assignments?

Assignments?

I've heard as a traveling nurse in many instances you'll get stuck with the heaviest assignment? or floated quite a bit? As I'm just getting into travelling I wanted to see what the consensus was among veteran travelers.

Re: Assignments?

Hi coachie
    Much has to do how the facility/unit treats the travelers (good or bad) re: assignments. I was in Baltimore over the summer and I got stuck w/ the stepdown type patients or rotated into the stepdown unit a lot even when it wasn't my turn to float (all staff/travelers suppose to float in turn into stepdown from PICU). Some places actually treat you as one of their own and give assignments that you are able to handle (like here in Charleston). The floating deals more w/ pt acuity and census. Unless you state it in your contract, travelers are usually the first to float. They are usually floated into units within their scope of practice, ie for me PICU being main unit, I'd float to NICU, peds floor, ped. cardiac, etc. I think I answered all your questions. If I forgot anything let me know.

These very issues are why I stopped doing agency work and went on staff in a union hospital.

I just wasn't comfortable with the expectations and the assignments I received...and yes, the assignment was always the worst; whatever patients the regular staff didn't want. Frequently without support or assistance either. Got old.

How you're treated and where they can use you are legitimate concerns.

I've worked agency for over 7 years in hospitals, nursing homes, subacute rehab facilties. It is luck of the draw in most places. Some are really difficult on agency nurses, some are happy to have a warm body to take up the slack.

Whatever you do, don't talk about how much money you make. Nurses tend to fixate on that issue especially and justify giving you a heavier assignment, or sending you to float because "you make more than" they do.