Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pet Therapy, good?

Red face Pet Therapy, good?

I am a nursing student who will soon be graduating and want to say this forum has been a great way to learn about the "real" world of nursing, thanks everyone for posting. A frustration I am having is that in nursing school everything is set to such an ideal standard and the way it "should" be. When I get to my clinical rotations I see another world of nurses running around like crazy just to get the basics covered. What about all the humanistic, altruistic stuff?
    So, to my question... I have been reading a bit about pet therapy programs and they sound very cool but haven't actually seen one anywhere. Guess the animal lover in me is coming out. These seem like a great way to lighten people up and well, make them feel good. I was wondering if anyone has worked with a pet therapy program and if so, what kind of benefits have you seen from it? Has their been any major complications, drawbacks? I am thinking of trying to get one started for a project at my clinical sight.

Re: Pet Therapy, good?