Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long Term Care

Question Long Term Care

What is it about Long Term Care facilities (aka "Nursing Homes") that makes nurses run screaming in the other direction? Why is it new grads and seasoned nurses want to only work in hospitals, and consider LTC facility nurses "less than" in the nursing world? I am honestly asking this only as being curious, no other hidden agenda!

Re: Long Term Care

Good question! The way I see it, in hospitals, you see the person for a short amount of time. Do we really see the person over an extended time in the hospital? No, we don't. But guess what? In LTC, we do.

I've worked LTC for the majority of my career; when I got my degree, it seems like the 'job to have' involved OB. Mind you, I am NOT knocking OB. We all are gonna 'grow up and get old', for the most part.

No, no-one wants to be in a nursing home, but there are many reasons why people are there: They, or their families, are unable to care for themselves, and need help. Home care may not be an option.

I wish we had more people who really CARED, lalach!

Unhappy Re: Long Term Care

LTC care has too many people requiring too much with too little resources. It also attracts a fair amount of people whose workplace behavior would not be tolerated elsewhere. Most people who have any kind of work ethic look elsewhere after exposure for any length of time to workplaces that offer so little in terms of job satisfaction. There comes that breaking point.

Ouch! That was rather harsh! Since I have worked in LTC since I was 16, and am now turning 47, I take that as a slam to a large number of people who have GREAT work ethics. Thank you for your opinion though.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Quote Originally Posted by cali510 View Post