Meet Davie Johnson of TX: Nursing a passion: Mentor, friend, colleague inspires others - El Paso Times

Davie Johnson's first nursing job in the early 1950s was in a segregated Baptist hospital in Little Rock, Ark.

She worked in what the hospital called its "colored ward."

"The Catholic and Baptist nursing schools in Little Rock were only two miles from my home, but they did not accept black students," Johnson said. "So I had to attend the school in St. Louis, Missouri. Then the Baptist hospital in Little Rock hired me after I graduated."

Back then, even buses were segregated. Blacks had to sit toward the back.

"To save money, I skipped riding the bus, which was six cents for a round trip, and walked six or seven miles each day. We only rode the bus when the weather was bad."

Eventually, Johnson received two master's degrees and a license in social work. To put herself through school, she worked as an elevator operator at a department store.

She has taught nursing students at the University of Texas at El Paso, where she developed a gerontology course, and at El Paso Community College.

Many El Pasoans know her through her work at hospitals and as the nursing home ombudsman for the Area Agency on Aging.

What many don't know is that both her legs were amputated below the knee in 2008. But that, too, proved to be only a temporary setback, as the 80-year-old nurse is again working and teaching other nurses.

"I can't stop, because being a nurse is my passion," Johnson said. "I especially love working with the elderly. My second master's degree is in aging."

Johnson developed peripheral artery disease and lost circulation in both her legs.

"I've always advocated a healthy lifestyle and health screenings, but this caught me off guard," she said. "I don't have diabetes. I did not smoke or drink, and I was vegetarian for several years before this happened. I learned that some people have a genetic predisposition for PAD, and high cholesterol runs in our family."