Thread: Normal for med-surg?! Please advise.

Normal for med-surg?! Please advise.

I'm a fairly new nurse, and have been working at my (first) position for about 7 - 7 1/2 months now, and I've run into a few things that I'm really going back and forth about. Please bear with me, this is a little long.

The first thing is narcotics. Our MD's prescribe what seems like an awful lot of narcotics for little things. Come in with bronchitis? Get Demerol 50mg q 2 hours PRN. Abd pain and vomiting? Get 3-4 mg of Morphine (or 1-2 mg of Dilaudid) q 3 PRN. I've had a patient getting 6 mg of morphine q2 hours PRN plus scheduled oxycodone AND Lortab q6. More than 1 patient has had to be coded because they quit breathing after the meds they demanded. I don't remember any clinicals patient getting that much that often, and all the other nurses say that it's ridiculous. IS this normal?

I'm a little concerned about our MD's, though I don't expect them to be great. But we have one who sometimes slips out of english and into a middle eastern language when he writes (can't remember which one) and gets upset when we ask what he wrote. He tells us "If you can't read it, just cancel it out." We have another that I overheard an ICU nurse ask about her patient (I'd been called in to help hang IV meds, blood sugars, etc). The patient had had a 105-106 degree fever for 3 days, and the staff was worried that if they couldn't get it down she might get brain damage. He told her "That's not dangerous in an adult. I'm not doing anything for that."

We get peds patients, but the hospital won't carry the stuff to treat them. RT is constantly throwing fits b/c they don't have child-sized masks, and I've seen a nurse go down the street to Wal-Mart at 2 AM b/c there wasn't enough formula for the baby and the supervisor wouldn't go. We ran out of BP cuffs for them the other night.