Thread: New Grad Blues...

Question New Grad Blues...

Hi! I am new to this site. Hoping to get some feedback. I am relatively new to nursing. I have been working on a telemetry unit for 4 1/2 months, my 1st hospital job. I make a lot of mistakes and it is really frustrating to me. I wonder if other people make mistakes like I do and they aren't talking about it. I feel like the mistakes I make are kind of a big deal. I love nursing and I know I am really great with patient care and my heart is in the right place but I feel like a moron half the time. Yesterday I felt really good like I was actually competent and starting to get the hang of things...then change of shift came. I was giving report and mentioned how I didn't give a medication that was a new order because I was thinking of it as a routine med and it should start at 2100. The other nurse got really upset with me because I should have given it earlier because it was an anti-dysrythmic med and the dr ordered it because the pt had an episode of vtach. Obviously I get why it is a very big deal but for some reason when I saw the order I thought it was a BP med and it's a med that I really do know is for dysrythmias. So I have been beating myself up all day feeling like a total idiot. I really want to be a competent nurse Has anyone else had this experience?? Sorry for a long email but would really appreciate some feedback

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working
    Welcome to the site, caligirl! I hope you don't mind, but I moved your post to a more appropriate Forum.

I am sure you will get some feedback!

'Cat'

thank you!!

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar
    Hey Caligirl,