Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foot pain...need good shoes - HELP!

Foot pain...need good shoes - HELP!

I am a 2nd year ADN student & running into some serious foot pain in clinicals. My heels hurt like h*ll, and no amount of posturing makes them feel better unless I sit down. I have no idea how I would work 3 12's with this kind of relentless pain. I am not heavy (5'1" and about 105 lbs), so it's not like my feet have a lot of weight to bear. I do have small feet though, about size 5 1/2. I also have some lower back/hip problems.

Right now I have Nike walking shoes, and I guess they aren't cutting it. I have Dansko clogs (not for nursing) that are comfy to slip on, and I've heard nurses rave about them. However, I've found that the hard bed feels rather brutal after a long time standing.

Can someone recommend better shoes that will help me work with less pain? Do support hose help? Price is not an object here - I just want to invest in one good pair of shoes that will keep my feet healthy. Thanks!

Re: Foot pain...need good shoes - HELP!

Go get checked out, it could be sciatica, or even something else. A fellow nurse friend of mine just had foot surgergy, and her othopedic surgeon recommended Dansko shoes for her. He said they were the best so if they aren't helping ....get checked out.

I went to a local running store (not a chain!! like footlocker, etc.) They will take a look at your feet and your shoes to see how you are wearing them. They are the professionals. I am a runner and have different shoes for running than working- but they know what they are talking about.

Check out this article on the Perfect Nursing Shoe -- it should help you out

Fitness, Health and Wellness for the Nurse: The Perfect Nursing Shoe

Member Extraordinaire hppygr8ful's Avatar